Monday, November 10, 2008

DI Yogyakarta

Daerah Istimewa (Special Region of) Yogyakarta is the second smallest province in Indonesia after DKI Jakarta. It's located on South of Java Island. It's called Special Region because it's the only province that governed by precolonial / kingdom. The capital city of DI Yogyakarta is Yogyakarta town.

There is a national university in Yogyakarta. It is UGM (Uneviersitas Gajah Mada) which is one of the best universities in Indonesia.

There are many sites and destinations that you can visit. Such as :

1. Malioboro Street, you can buy many handcraft originally from Yogyakarta.

2. Prambanan (loro Jonggrang) Temple, a historical temple with a mistic legend.

Long time ago (1945-1950), DI Yogyakarta has ever been choosen as capital and administrative city of Indonesia for politic stability reason. But that was just for a while. Now, capital and adminstrative city of Indonesia has been removed to Jakarta.

Yogyakarta city is known as a center of classical Javanese fine art and culture such as batik, ballet, drama, music, poetry and puppet shows. It is also famous as a center for Indonesian higher education. At Yogyakarta's center is the kraton, or Sultan's palace. While the city sprawls in all directions from the kraton, the core of the modern city is to the north.

Little Heaven is wearing Blue Weed by Blog Oh! Blog | To Blogger by Gre at Template-Godown | Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS).