Monday, November 10, 2008

West Sumatera

West Sumatera is a province of Indonesia that lies on the west coast of Sumatera Island. The capital city of the province is Padang.

About 1945 until 1950, capital and administrative city of Indonesia was moved to Bukit Tinggi (a town in West Sumatera) for poltical stability reason.

The province includes large areas of dense tropical forest, which is home to a host of species including Rafflesia arnoldii (world's largest flower), Sumateran Tiger, Siamang, Malayan tapir, Sumateran Serow, Rusa Deer, Malayan Sun Bear, Bornean Clouded Leopard, and many birds and butterflies.

The province includes two National Parks: Siberut National Park and Kerinci Seblat National Park, as well as a number of nature reserves: Rimbo Panti Nature Reserve, Batang Palupuh Nature Reserve, Lembah Anai Nature Reserve, Lembah Harau Nature Reserve, Bung Hatta Grand Forest Park, Beringin Sakti Nature Reserve.

Another destinations that you can visit are :
- Jam Gadang, it's Indonesia's Big Ben
- Air Manis Beach, beautiful beach in fishers village.
- Fort De Kock Castle
- Maninjau Lake
- Etc

Little Heaven is wearing Blue Weed by Blog Oh! Blog | To Blogger by Gre at Template-Godown | Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS).